The Hunt For Wholesale Products For Ebay

The other week I was looking for a legitimate wholesale website for a friend of mine. This friend of mine wants to start an online business selling on eBay; he told me that he was having problems sourcing legitimate wholesale products online, the problem was, that out of quite a few sites that he had visited which one should he choose, as he is a total novice to buying off of online wholesale suppliers.

He had heard sooo many stories about people being scammed, buying products off online wholesale suppliers and then losing vast amounts of money, as the site took their money and then never delivered the products.

So he set me a little task, and the task was to find him legitimate wholesale suppliers but not just electrical products, but for a selection of Items like, cameras, watches, fashion goods, psp’s, mp3 & 4 players, ipods etc etc.

So I took him up on the challenge, and told him that if I come up with a list of legitimate wholesale suppliers for him, that he would have to buy me drinks all night. 🙂

In my mind I was thinking that this is going to be easy, as I am working on the Internet all day, every day, so I would put aside 30 minutes a day for 5 days for the hunt for wholesalers.

So I started on the Monday and the more I looked, the more confused I got. I put in the search box wholesale and Google give me over 26 million choices. After looking through page after page of wholesalers my head was starting to hurt, all the pages where very similar in that there was no way to know if a site was legitimate and you had to register to see the prices, fair enough I hear you say, but when you are comparing prices to get the best deal possible, which anybody would do, you don’t want to waste your time registering with every single site.

Let’s say you spend 5 minutes to register on each site and you register 20 in the morning, that’s 1hr 40mins lost of your valuable time, and that’s just to compare prices, and then when you have registered you find out that you have got to buy in bulk, thousands at a time as there is a minimum purchase and not forgetting the morning after when you get email after email off them.

By Thursday I was getting a little bemused with the whole search for wholesalers, as every web page seemed to be just like the last one and then came the breakthrough. I was talking to one of my colleagues on msn and mentioned the wholesale search for my friend, and he just laughed, and then said “SaleHoo” and then gives me there home page.

Anyhow, Friday afternoon and the last thirty minute hunt, I thought that I would give SaleHoo a try, as my colleague had highly recommended it the day before.
I had a look around the site which is a wholesale sourcing directory, I noticed right away that it was a nice and clean site, easy on your eyes and brain and really easy to navigate, It has a Q&A page, free resources page which is way cool and a video tour.
They also have a really big community with a brilliant forum. Imagine that you was setting up a new Ebay business and you run into a problem that you could not solve yourself, you post your question on the forum and then have it answered by people that was in the same boat as you one time, it could even be answered by one of the many Ebay powersellers that use the site, how cool is that.
I cannot list the amount of resources that you get at SaleHoo as it would go on and on, the best thing is to take a look yourself, you will be amazed.
They do charge a small one off fee of $67 (which is tax deductable) that is for a lifetime’s membership, hec, if I was to have charged for my time, the first half hour would be more than SaleHoo are charging for a lifetimes membership to all their resources.
Oh! I nearly forgot to tell you, they have over 8,000 of the world’s best legitimate suppliers all pre-screened and categorized, way cool! And are members of the Ebay designers programme and BBB Reliability programme and a 56 day (8 weeks) guarantee.
Anyhow! I give my friend SaleHoo’s web address and he just looked at me and said that he had looked at these so called wholesale directories and most are scams, with out of date links and so on, I told him to at least check the site out on Monday as I was really impressed with what SaleHoo was offering for the one off small amount of $67. By the way, he got me no drinks. 😦
The following Saturday I went to my local watering hole where my friend was waiting with a big smile on his face, he grabbed me and give me a big hug (uncool) which I thought was going to break a few ribs, he said that he had taken a look at SaleHoo and had no hesitations on becoming a member, it was everything that he was looking for plus so much more.
He was over the moon and never stopped talking about SaleHoo all night. 🙂
Anyway to bring this happy story to an end, I was so impressed by SaleHoo that I put a page up for them at http://www.salehoo.maxryanglobal.com
OH! My friend was so impressed and happy with SaleHoo that he did buy my drinks all night, and as we were leaving, he picked up his jacket, and when he unfolded it, there was a bottle of Jack Daniels (my favourite tipple) in it that he gave to me as a thank you. 🙂

To Everybody’s Success
Paul
PS. JD is the coolest drink ever! 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , [ Edit ]

One Response to “The Hunt For Wholesale Products For Ebay”

  1. Hmm, I never looked into Salehoo, just might. There are alot of really good sources of wholsale suppliers available, but there are alot of garbage lists and fake wholesale suppliers out there.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.