Remember To Always Check For Viruses!!!!

Well it’s nearly one week since my last blog and there is a simple reason for that…….LOT,s AND LOT,s OF VIRUSES.

When I said last week that it had taken me ages to get the blog up and running, well! I did not like the theme, so off to the Internet I went, thinking that it was going to be easy, just have a look around ,find the one I want and then simply swap it……OH NOOO not that simple.

I entered WordPress Themes into my Google search bar and up popped >>Results 110 of about 21,000,000 for WordPress themes.

So I started on the search for that theme that was going to jump out at me and say “I am the one you have been looking for Max, use meee!”

Anyway after a couple of hours looking at, and downloading various themes to try out. By the way,,,, I am one of those people that can never make his mind up???

When I go for a meal, I will read all the menu, this will take me 5 minutes, then it’s time for me to make my choice, this can be another 5 to 10 minutes…..by now my friends are getting a little bit miffed, as they have looked at the menu, made there mind up and are sat there with the menu nicely folded on the table. Me on the other hand, I’m still trying to make my mind up, as I want everything 🙂

Anyhow, I will eventually make my mind up and put the menu down. To the relief of my friends,,,,, but they know it will be short lived……

Then the waiter will come along for our orders…..Yes you guessed!! I have changed my mind, so I return to the menu and try to quickly pick another Item. With the shouts of, “come on hurry up” I pick another Item. So it can take me 20 minutes or more to choose from a menu…

The best of it is though, is that when I do get my food order, I always say that I should have kept to my first choice…To tell you the truth, I do exactly the same at Burger King!!!!!

Back to my WordPress theme story. I did the thing that I do not normally do, I unzipped all the folders that I had downloaded without checking with my security software. What an Idiot I am ! After a while my computer started to run really slow, and then applications started to not respond…. Then my heart sank as I started to realize what I had done, I could have kicked myself. It was that bad that my computer would not shut down by the normal way, and I had to pull the plug. The first time I tried to restart the computer….Nothing! So back to the plug and pull it out….Restart again and …..WHAM… it starts up, it took a long time to load up, so when windows started I thought “First thing, Virus scan” It took almost 3 hours to complete and found 7 different virus things, it deleted 5 but could not delete the other two. I felt really unsafe thinking that people could be spying on me as I am a full time Internet marketer.

I set my security software to manually take out the viruses and run it again. When it found the two viruses I could see where they was, and to my amazement they were not from the WordPress Themes that I had downloaded……So were was they from ????

/>>>>EMAILS<<<< Yes these two viruses were in emails……. I receive quite a lot of phishing mails every week, and these two were supposedly from pay pal?? So I did what pay pal say to do, which is to send them the email and then delete it, I also delete it from the deleted items folder. So what had happened?????? There is one thing that pay pal don’t remind you to do and this is……….EMPTY THE EMAILS SENT FOLDER!!!! DOH!

Anyhow, after all these viruses they must have attached them selves to things that keep my comp running smoothly. So there was only one thing to do and that was to reformat my hard drive. SCARY! I do have a stand alone hard drive as well which has all my files that I need, but there is always that thought that you have left a file on your main computer drive!!!!

After re formatting my hard drive it took me a couple of days to get my computer back to how I like it, and up to now I have not found anything missing. TOUCH WOOD!

So, always check any file that you download for viruses. And don’t forget like I did 🙂

By the way, I had a walk around the local hills the other day, called Rivington in Lancashire, and took a load of pictures. If you want to have a look, click on the flickr box and tell me what you think?????

Until the next time

Paul

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.